The inaugural season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 marked a significant turning point in the world of cricket. The 1xBet India platform allows you to wager on everything that happens during the IPL seasons.

It introduced a revolutionary T20 league that combined sport with entertainment. This first season set the stage for what would become one of the most lucrative and popular cricket leagues globally. Let’s find out how this 1st season was.

To begin, the IPL was officially launched by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007, with the first season kicking off on April 18, 2008. The league was structured around a franchise model, with 8 teams representing various cities across India. These teams were:

  • the Chennai Super Kings;
  • the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals);
  • the Kings XI Punjab;
  • the Kolkata Knight Riders;
  • the Mumbai Indians;
  • the Rajasthan Royals;
  • the Royal Challengers Bangalore;
  • and the Deccan Chargers.

If you love the Indian Premier League, you can go to 1xBet and wager on all its current teams. Each team played each other on 2 occasions in a double round-robin format, leading to a series of playoffs that culminated in a grand final. This model not only maximized local rivalries but also ensured a high volume of matches, feeding the cricket-hungry audience of India and beyond.


The economic model of the IPL was novel too. It involved massive investments, with franchises being sold through a bidding process that fetched about $723.59 million. The Mumbai Indians were the most expensive franchise, bought by Reliance Industries for approximately $111.9 million. The league attracted substantial sponsorships, with DLF, India’s largest real estate developer, securing the title sponsorship for $50 million over five years.

The Dynamics of the Tournament

The inaugural match between the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Royal Challengers Bangalore set the tone for the season. Brendon McCullum of the KKR scored an explosive 158 not out off 73 balls in the very 1st game. This remained the highest individual score of the season and established the IPL as a high-octane league. An online bеt on cricket 1xBet can be made at any moment, and here, you can wager on other players who deliver memorable performances, too.

The season consisted of 59 matches played over 44 days. Rajasthan Royals, led by Shane Warne, emerged as the surprise winners. They defeated the Chennai Super Kings in the final by 3 wickets in a thrilling match that went down to the final over. The success of Rajasthan Royals was a testament to the strategic acumen of Warne, both as captain and coach. This proved that thoughtful leadership could triumph in a format often perceived as favoring sheer power hitting.

Several players made significant impacts during the inaugural IPL season. Besides McCullum’s explosive start, Shaun Marsh of Kings XI Punjab ended as the tournament’s leading run-scorer with 616 runs, earning him the Orange Cap. On the bowling front, Sohail Tanvir of Rajasthan Royals took the Purple Cap with 22 wickets. This also includes the best bowling figures of 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings, which remained a record for many years. An online bet on any cricket match can be made at 1xBet, where all IPL events are featured.

The IPL was designed to appeal not only to traditional cricket fans but also to a broader audience, including families and younger viewers. The matches were scheduled in the evenings to maximize live viewership. The strategy was successful, with the IPL enjoying a television audience of more than 200 million in its first season alone. The innovative broadcast features, such as multiple camera angles, strategic time-outs, and celebrity commentary, enhanced viewer engagement.


The 1st season of the IPL had a profound and lasting impact on the world of cricket. It demonstrated that the T20 format could attract huge crowds and substantial television ratings, providing a lucrative revenue stream. The success of the IPL prompted other cricketing nations to establish their own T20 leagues, thereby changing the global cricketing landscape.